Golden Oldies in Wettenberg 2007

1 08 2007

I spent last weekend at the 1950s festival ‘Golden Oldies’ in Wettenberg in Germany. It was my first time and definitely not my last. I have actually prebooked my hotel in Gießen for 2008. It was a fantastic experience. Great live bands playing from  Friday at 8pm. Some silent hours Saturday and Sunday otherwise loads of great music and great dance. Plenty of good food and beer too. Despite a thousands of visitors and alcohol I could not see one drunk person. Not one  police or any fighting people. The second great thing was the large number of ‘Golden Oldies’, that is old cars but in pristine condition. My main reason to go was the 1950s fashion. That is my passion. Thousands of petticoated ladies in billowing skirts. You could buy all kind of items both from stalls outdoor and in a hall. If you want to experience something great I can not recommend enough to visit Golden Oldies.

It is easy to go to Wettenberg. My flight was from London Heathrow to Frankfurt Airport. Arriving to the airport I bought a train ticket to Gießen (twintown to Winchester where I live). I changed train in Frankfurt. The ticket was €12.50. From Gießen train station left dedicated buses for the festival. A day ticket was €1. The entrance to the festival €9 and if you paid Friday the ticket was valid for all three days. I call that Value for Money. You will have three great days with everything that make life worth living. I will add photos in my Flickr.com account and upload a video at Youtube.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

